About Ocean Trust

Thor Hat

Thor Lassen, President

Ocean Trust is headed by Thor Lassen educated in environmental and marine science at the University of Virginia and Virginia Institute of Marine Science, and honored nationally with multiple awards in recognition of seafood sustainability and restoration partnerships he established between private sector, government and conservation interests.

Board of Directors

Mr. Arnold Leo - Chairman - East Hampton Town Baymen's Association

Mr. Les Hodgson - Secretary/Treasurer - Marco Sales

Dr. Brian Rothschild - Founding Director of School of Marines Science & Technology UMASS Dartmouth

Dr. Richard Beamish - Emeritus Scientist at the Pacific Biological Station in Nanaimo, B.C

Dr. Grimur Valdimarsson - Senior Adviser at Icelandic Ministry of Industries and Innovation

Dr. Pat Burchfield - Director of Gladys Porter Zoo

Ocean Trust has a solid track record in building fishery, wildlife and marine conservation partnerships across diverse interests in the public and private sector achieving many significant milestones and receiving six national awards for its work: